## **S.23-103** Revised



To: Senate

From: Kris Nordgren, Secretary

Senate Nominating Committee

Date: June 23, 2023

Subject: Senate Committee Elections

This is a summary of the nominations received and outstanding vacancies for Senate committees.

All nominations must be received by the Senate Office from the Nominating Committee in time to be included in the documentation sent out for the next Senate meeting. Senators will be informed that further nominations may be made by individual members of Senate. Any such nominations must reach the Committee Secretary the Friday before the meeting of Senate, and no further nominations will be accepted after this time. The Committee Secretary will provide members of Senate at the Senate meeting with such further nominations as may have been received. Oral nominations during the meeting of Senate will not then be allowed.

If only one nomination is received for a position, the position will be elected by acclamation. If more than one nomination is received for a position online voting will be held during the week following the Senate meeting on Monday, July 10, 2023. An email will be sent to all Senators with information about the candidates and a link to the online voting system. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting

COMMITTEE	POSITION	TERM (from June 1, 2023)	NOMINATIONS RECEIVED (after June Senate Elections)	CANDIDATES ELECTED (from June Senate Meeting)
СС	Faculty Senator	2 years		Danny Leznoff
	Student Member	1 year		Priyanka Dhesa
	Faculty Member	2 years		Gordon Coleman
	Convocation Senator	3 years		Barbara Szymczyk
DQAC	Undergraduate Student	1 year		Oghenekaro Umukoro
	Undergraduate Student	1 year		
	Senator	1 year		
ESC	Senator	1 year		
	Student Senator	1 year		
REB	Member - medical doctor knowledgeable in medical & health research	3 years		Malcolm Steinberg
	Graduate Student Member	2 years	Jody Bauche; Tatiana Losev; A. Kaan Zaimoglu	
SAB	Faculty Member	2 years	_	Shafik Bhalloo

	Faculty Member (Alternate)	2 years	Cathy D'Andrea
	Undergraduate Student	2 years	Mussaab Manzer
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	2 years	Ethan Wong
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
SCAR	Senator	2 years	Jill Sutherland
	Student Senator	2 years	
SCCS	Senator (at-large)	2 years	Barbara Szymczyk
	Member of the University	2 years	Abdul Zahir
	Community (at-large)	2 years	
	Convocation Senator	2 years	Cristina Eftenaru
	Student (Alternate)	1 year	
SCEMP	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year	Laura Rincon
SCEMI	Graduate Student (at-large)	1 year	
	Faculty Member (Applied Sciences)	2 years	Bonnie Gray
	Faculty Member (Arts and Social	2 years	
	Sciences)	-	
CCIA	Faculty Member (Communication,	2 years	Elspeth Pratt
SCIA*	Art & Technology)  Faculty Member (Environment)	·	
		2 years	
	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	1 year	
	Undergraduate Student (at-large) Graduate Student (at-large)	2 years	
	Faculty Member	2 years	Shafik Bhalloo
	Faculty Member	2 years	Ingrid Northwood
	Faculty Member (Alternate)	2 years	Leanne Barlow
	Faculty Member (Alternate)	1 year	Abraham Punnen
SCODA	Student	1 year	Priyanka Dhesa
SCODA	Student	1 year	Mussaab Manzer
	Student	1 year	Abhishek Parmar
	Student (Alternate)	1 year	Admistick Farmar
	Student (Alternate)	1 year	
	Faculty Senator (Applied Sciences)	1 year	
	Faculty Senator (Communication,	1 year	
	Art & Technology)	3 years	Thecla Schiphorst
	Faculty Senator (Education)	1 year	
	Faculty Senator (Environment)	3 years	Mark Collard
SCUH	Faculty Senator (Health Sciences)	3 years	David Whitehurst
	Faculty Senator (Science)	3 years	John Stockie
	Convocation Senator	3 years	Colin Percival
	Convocation Senator	3 years	Barbara Szymczyk
	Senator (at-large)	2 years	Natalia Zuluaga
SCUP	Faculty Senator (Communication,	•	T tatalla Zaraaga
	Art & Technology)	2 years	
	Faculty Senator (Education)	2 years	
	Faculty Senator (Health Sciences)	2 years	Ralph Pantophlet
	Faculty Senator (Science)	2 years	Vance Williams
	•		Mishael Abu-
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year	Samhan
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year	Abhishek Parmar
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year Harkirat Singh Wa	

	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year		
	(Alternate)	•		Ones Vives
	Graduate Student Senator	1 year		Quang Vuong
	Graduate Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year		
	Convocation Senator	3 years		Colin Percival
	Undergraduate Student	1 year		Aaron Fung
SCUS	Undergraduate Student	1 year		Lynn Masri
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		Abhishek Parmar
	Faculty Member (Arts and Social Sciences)	3 years		Martin Santamaria
	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	1 year		
	Faculty Member (Science)	3 years		Sarah Johnson
SCUTL	Undergraduate Student	1 year		Aaron Fung
	Undergraduate Student	1 year		
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		
	Graduate Student	1 year		Quang Vuong
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		(
	Convocation Senator	3 years		Cristina Eftenaru
SGAAC	Graduate Student	1 year	Marissa Traversa	Cristina Errenara
SUAAC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	TVICTION TITLY CIDE	
	Faculty Member (Applied Sciences)	2 years		Ljiljana Trajkovic
	Faculty Member (Communication, Art & Technology)	2 years		Scott Steedman
SLC	Faculty Member (Education)	1 year		
SEC	Faculty Member (Environment)	2 years		
	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	2 years		
	Faculty Member (Science)	2 years		Vance Williams
	Senator (Serence)	2 years		Danny Leznoff
	Senator	2 years		Cristina Eftenaru
SLC/LPAC	Undergraduate Student	2 years	Harkirat Singh Walia	Cristina Erronara
SECIETIC	Graduate Student	2 years	Turknut Singir Wunu	Kate Elliott
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		Trace Efficie
	Faculty Senator (Applied Sciences)	2 years		Bonnie Gray
	Faculty Senator (Arts and Social Sciences)	1 year		Bolline Gray
	Faculty Senator (Business)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (Communication,			
	Art and Technology)	2 years		
SNC	Faculty Senator (Education)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (Environment)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (Health Sciences)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (Science)	2 years		John Stockie
	Student Senator	1 year		JOHN STOCKIC
	Graduate Student	1 year	Marissa Traversa	
		•	Iviaiissa Tiaveisä	Janis McKenzie
SPCSAB	Faculty Senator Convocation Senator	3 years		Colin Percival
		3 years		Comi Percivai
CDCCAD/	Faculty Member	2 years		+
SPCSAB/ SGAAC	Graduate Student Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		

SPCSAB/	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Priyanka Dhesa
SUAAC	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	Natalia Zuluaga
	Convocation Senator	3 years	Jill Sutherland
SUAAC	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Harkirat Singh Walia
	<b>Undergraduate Student (Alternate)</b>	1 year	
Vice Chair of Senate	Senator	1 year	Abhishek Parmar

<sup>\*</sup> SCIA Faculty members: *In the event that the Faculty Member is unable to attend, the Faculty Dean is authorized to appoint an alternate replacement.* 

CC Calendar Committee

DQAC Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee

ESC Electoral Standing Committee

REB Research Ethics Board SAB Senate Appeals Board

SCAR Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules SCCS Senate Committee on Continuing Studies

SCEMP Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning

SCIA Senate Committee on International Activities
SCODA Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals
SCUH Senate Committee on University Honours
SCUP Senate Committee on University Priorities
SCUS Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies

SCUTL Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning SGAAC Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee

SGSC Senate Graduate Studies Committee

SLC/LPAC Senate Library Committee/Library Penalties Appeal Committee

SNC Senate Nominating Committee

SPCSAB Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries

SUAAC Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee